Teleclass Education
webber training calendarlogin logout button
World Health Organization Ad
Virox Technologies Inc.
spacer
spacer
December 2017
SMTWTFS
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            

Teleclass(FREE WHO Teleclass - North America)
DECONTAMINATION OF HIGH-TOUCH ENVIRONMENTAL SURFACES IN HEALTHCARE: A CRITICAL LOOK AT CURRENT PRACTICES AND NEWER APPROACHES
Outline:Objectives:
- Discuss the relative importance of environment surfaces as vehicles for the spread of nosocomial pathogens, with emphasis on high-touch surfaces.
- Identify the means by which high-touch surfaces acquire pathogens.
- Discuss the survival of pathogens on high-touch surfaces and transfer to other vehicles.
- Take a critical review at current practices of decontaminating high-touch environmental surfaces using chemicals.
- Evaluate the relative importance of wiping in the decontamination of hard, non-porous surfaces.
- Enumerate the pros and cons of alternative approaches to decontamination of environmental surfaces.
- Take a look at the future of environmental surface decontamination with emphasis on (a) workplace and environmental safety, (b) testing and label claims, (c) government regulation, and (d) in-service training and monitoring of house-keepers.
DateAugust 7, 2013
Live broadcast time1:30pm-2:30pm in New York/Toronto ... 6:30pm in London ... 7:30pm in Geneva
Faculty:Prof. Syed A. Sattar, University of Ottawa, Canada
Notes:Sponsored by the World Health Organization First Global Patient Safety Challenge - Clean Care is Safer Care (www.who.int/gpsc/en)
Payment: (Free Registration)